When discussions of personal injuries come up, things that the mind conjures up are automobile accidents, accidents in surgery, and perhaps falling in a public establishment. One thing all persons have in common that suffer a personal injury is that they have the right to sue. Most of the time, that is exactly what happens. If they are going to sue, however, they should become aware of what the laws are concerning personal injuries in their state. A Slip and Fall Lawyer in Nevada helps injured parties recover what is theirs. Here are some of the laws clients should know in Nevada.
The first thing clients should be aware of is the amount of time they have to file the lawsuit before the chance to do so expires. This is known as the statute of limitations. In Nevada, clients have two years to file the claim in a civil court. If they fail to file within that time period, any opportunity for the case to be heard will be gone. No damages will be able to be collected from the lawsuit. Thus, it is extremely important to stay within that time frame.
Another thing clients need to keep in mind is that Nevada applies the comparative shared fault rule. In other words, if it can be shown that the injured party shares part blame for the accident, any amount of damages that would be received will be reduced by the percentage the injured party is at fault. However, if the injured party shares 50 percent or more for the accident, no damages can be received at all. The best chance the injured party has is to get a lawyer who can help keep this from happening.
The Nettles Law Firm has been providing legal solutions for clients in the Henderson, Nevada area for more than 14 years. In addition to slip and fall cases, the areas of personal injury practice also include wrongful death, automobile accidents, and dangerous products. Free consultations are available for potential clients who have questions. If any parties are looking for a Slip and Fall Lawyer in Nevada, the law firm is available.
Be the first to like.