Any driver who is accused of DUI in the state of Kansas should understand the charges against them and the penalties of a conviction. Kansas DUI laws mandate severe penalties for anyone who is convicted of the offense. To understand your rights, you first need to understand the law.
It is against the law in Kansas to drive or even to attempt to drive a vehicle with a blood alcohol level above the legal limit of .08 percent. This means that you could be arrested and charged even if your car never makes it onto the road. Whether you were driving or you were arrested before you started your vehicle, you need an experienced DUI lawyer in Shawnee KS to defend you in court.
Whether you believe you are guilty of DUI or not, the state must prove beyond a reasonable doubt that you operated or attempted to operate a motor vehicle in order to impose penalties. This is very important because the sentence for a single DUI conviction includes a mandatory jail sentence of 48 hours, license suspension for 30 days followed by restricted driving privileges for 330 days and fines up to $1,000. The jail sentences may be substituted for community service and an alcohol treatment program at your expense. Your vehicle may also be impounded for as long as one year.
Sentences are even more severe if you already have at least one DUI conviction, if there was a child under the age of 14 in the car with you or if your were in an accident that resulted in someone’s death. To protect your rights and give you the best chance of avoiding criminal penalties, hire a DUI lawyer in Shawnee KS to defend you against the charges.
To learn how an attorney can defend you against a charge of DUI. Expect your lawyer to listen to your side of the story, talk to potential witnesses and file a motion to see the evidence the state has against you in your case before he or she plans a defense strategy to help you avoid the serious penalties from a DUI conviction.
Be the first to like.